Kissing frogs.

Last November, I finally finished spinning my four-ounce bag of fiber from Unplanned Peacock in the colorway Frog Prince.


I can’t remember if it is 100% Merino or if there’s some nylon in there, making it socky. In a completely uncharacteristic move, I’ve lost the tag. And I’m not enough of a connoisseur to tell a fiber’s contents by its feel. 

Anyway.

I loved spinning the singles—pale to vibrant greens with tinges of mauve scattered here and there. Just gorgeous.

And then came the plying decision. To two-ply or chain ply?

(No, of course, I don’t start spinning with such a plan in mind! Why on earth would I do that?! Yours truly is a process spinner/knitter/yarner. When people ask me what I am going to make with what I’m spinning, I try not to be a gigantic smartass when I say, “Yarn.”)

For the life of me, I can’t remember what made me do it, but I decided to do a two-ply. Maybe it was because I had two relatively equally weighted bobbins.

(Maybe I did start off the spinning project with the plan of doing a two-ply… How am I supposed to remember these things?)

As I guided the two singles through my fingers and onto the bobbin, I knew almost immediately it wasn’t turning my crank. I mean, I did like the barber-poling. Barber-pole yarn, specifically this colorway of Zauberball Crazy, is what got me into spinning to begin with, but I just didn’t like how the colors were getting muddled.

Despite this, ever onward I plied.


And when one bobbin ran out, of course there was still a bit left on the other one. (The two bobbins weren’t that equal…) So I did as I always do and chain-plied the remainder for scrap—spinning leaders, waste weft, provisional cast-ons, etc.

I have a little collection of these leftovers stuffed in the front pocket of my spinning wheel bag.


And as soon as I began looping this froggy yarn onto itself to create a continuous color-change three-ply, I knew it.

This is what I should have done.


In general, I love the rounder smoothness of a three-ply. In this tiny ball of yarn, I love the solid gradations of color. See that little pop of pink peeking through in the ball? In the two-ply, it got diluted.

I have just over five hundred yards of the two-ply stuff—and just this tiny little ball of what I really wanted but didn’t know it.


I’m learning what I like. And this wasn’t exactly it.

I niddy-noddied the yarn off the wheel and neglected it for two months. I didn’t wash it. I didn’t wind it. I didn’t even take it out my bag.

But I did solemnly swear that I would chain-ply my next yarn, a lovely braid of Polwarth from Sheepish Creations dyed to soft springy hues of leaf, peach, and apricot.


And I did.

And as you might have guessed, I’ve made peace with the Frog Prince.

To be continued…

One thought on “Kissing frogs.

Leave a Reply

